Kickstart

In my wanderings, I was particularly struck by the repetition of so many aspects of the city.  Cities hold many buildings, people, cars– things, that I came to wonder if anything is really unique in a city.  I started to imagine people all throughout cities living in little pods crushed right up to the each other– simultaneously living without real knowledge of each other.  I was also struck by moments that seemed both private and public; two of my photos capture people walking (or dancing) when they thought they were alone and private, but in actuality, they were exposed for people to see.  I came to a sort of conflict: while I think, in cities, many people (including myself) live pretty self contained lives, comforted by what they know and a bit overwhelmed by all of the “opportunities” of a city, it is still almost impossible to live a completely private, self contained life.

Leave a Reply

